The Forever Boys - Peter Golenbock

The Forever Boys

By Peter Golenbock

  • Release Date: 2014-11-01
  • Genre: Baseball


The Forever Boys is the funny, heartbreaking, authentic story of the men who played in the short-lived Senior Professional Baseball Association.  
Peter Golenbock spent the season with the league champion St. Petersburg Pelicans.  Like the league’s other seven teams, the Pelicans were a collection of former and near major leaguers – some desperate for a return to The Show, some in need of a pay check, all grateful for the joyous opportunity to suit up for another ballgame.  
Golenbock’s genius in capturing the essence of the men he writes about has never been more evident.  His pitch-perfect ear for dialog and anecdotes, and deep understanding of the game, take you right onto the bus, into the clubhouse, and side-by-side with the ballplayers.  Full of triumphs and failures, hopes and memories, one-liners and muscle pulls, The Forever Boys is a priceless time capsule of 1970s and 80s baseball.        
Featuring Dock Ellis, Bobby Tolan, Steve Kemp, Lenny Randle, John Matlack, Ron LeFlore, Bill Lee, Ferguson Jenkins, Rollie Fingers, Tim Stoddard, Dick Williams, Earl Weaver, Bert Campaneris, George Foster, Mickey Rivers, Sammy Stewart, Milt Wilcox, Randy Lerch, Billy Martin, Tom Seaver, Reggie Jackson, Joe Sambito, Dave Kingman,  Toby Harrah, Roy Howell, Ron Washington, Ken Landreaux, Dick Bosman, Sparky Anderson, Steve Henderson, Amos Otis, Graig Nettles, Al Oliver, and many more.