One Second After - William R. Forstchen

One Second After

By William R. Forstchen

  • Release Date: 2011-04-26
  • Genre: Science Fiction
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 3,305 Ratings

Description

A post-apocalyptic thriller of the after effects in the United States after a terrifying terrorist attack using electromagnetic pulse weapons.

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.

The John Matherson Series
#1 One Second After
#2 One Year After
#3 The Final Day

Other Books
Pillar to the Sky
48 Hours

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Reviews

  • Hate Fiction - Loved This

    5
    By SecurityAllstar.com
    This is a possible real scenario and will really make you think. Lots of good ideas for the up and coming prepper.
  • This is a must read for everyone!

    5
    By VirginiaVol
    In today’s world, knowledge and awareness is the only thing that will let you survive. If you are trapped into the digital age, this is a true wake up call for everyone on how quickly and badly society can change when presented with any major disaster or event. Read this again and again! Then do the same to the follow up books.
  • Awesome book

    5
    By Bbpfeiffer07
    Great book really well written
  • Oof

    1
    By Gargledeez
    Absolutely terrible. The first book in my entire life I couldn’t finish.
  • All most good

    2
    By rgmerkel
    Would have been okay but for an undertone of right-wing propaganda
  • This series is amazing!

    5
    By DpalmerMT
    Great series and really makes you think! I hard a hard time putting this series down!!
  • Such a great read!

    5
    By Drew Emmert
    This book is addicting! I love fictional apocalyptic books and have to say that this one is at the top of my list! This book is fantastic.
  • Awesome read!

    5
    By carrie131313####
    So interesting and terrifying at the same time. If you like “the walking dead”, you will love this book!
  • I cried...a lot

    5
    By grrrlchaos
    This book is well written and all too thorough. Prepare to take breaks. Stunning.
  • Do not recommend

    1
    By roughday2018
    The EMP premise is interesting, but the writing style felt amateurish. Perhaps my mistake is comparing this to Cormac McCarthy’s book.